The regions of the Northwest Territories are administered by the government through the Department of Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA).  There are five administrative regions in the Northwest Territories:  Inuvik, Sahtu, Dehcho, North Slave, and South Slave.  The Dehcho regional office is located in the Village of Fort Simpson.

The Dehcho regional office represents the communities of:

  • Fort Liard
  • Fort Simpson
  • Jean Marie River
  • Nahanni Butte
  • Trout Lake
  • Wrigley

Regional Offices are responsible for the delivery of many of the Department’s programs and services to community governments.  Regional staff assist community governments with:

  • ·          budgeting,
  • ·          debt recovery,
  • ·          financial reporting and
  • ·          other activities to support the use of sound financial management practices.

They also assist communities with capital planning and the operation and maintenance of community infrastructure and equipment.

Assistant Fire Marshals participate in training activities, local inspections and investigations.

Governance advisors in Regional Offices represent the Department at self-government negotiations and provide advice and support to community governments on a range of issues.

Regional community development and recreation staff assist with local recreation, sport and youth programs.

They also provide leadership for community capacity-building initiatives.

Regional staff assist community governments with community planning activities, administer leases for Commissioner’s Lands.1

1Municipal and Community Affairs